I already mentioned in an earlier post that I was doing some experiments with Virtual Router Redundancy Protocol on routers from different vendors. For those of you not familiar with VRRP: it’s a protocol that allows multiple routers to share the same IP address, which then can be used as the default gateway for end devices. This gives you some redundancy in case a router goes down. VRRP is the IETF standard for an earlier protocol: HRSP, which is available on Cisco devices only. For more info, Wikipedia is your friend.

I already managed to get VRRP running on both GNS3 and real Cisco routers, but since it’s supposed to be a standard, why not try it in a multivendor environment? My favorite non-Cisco router is Vyatta: it’s a stripped-down Linux with nothing left but the kernel and network-related packages already installed. The command line handles somewhat like a Cisco IOS. Since it can run on almost any x86 hardware, you can virtualize it too, so it’s an easy solution in my lab. The basic version is free.

I followed the guide I found on openmaniak.com and got it running in no time. I used the following configuration: 192.168.0.2 for the Vyatta, 192.168.0.3 for the Cisco router (a 2611 running 12.3 IOS), and 192.168.0.5 as the virtual IP address.

I started and configured my Vyatta first. Here you see it sending VRRP multicasts to 224.0.0.18, to announce to the other router(s) that he’s currently the master and will handle all packets send to 192.168.0.5, the virtual address.

VRRP Vyatta

Next, I booted and configured the Cisco router. Note that both configurations used the ‘preempt’ command, which means that if a ‘better’ router is present in the subnet, it will immediately assume the master role, instead of waiting until the current leader (the Vyatta) goes down. The ‘better’ router here means the one with the higher priority, or in case of a tie, the one with the highest IP address.

Since the Cisco router has a higher IP address, it takes the master role after a few seconds:

After the Cisco router becomes the master, it will handle any packet destined for 192.168.0.5. Should the router fail, for example by me unplugging the ethernet cable, the Vyatta router will take the master role again and the address 192.168.0.5 will stay reachable.

So far so good. But I did come across a small problem in my tests. if you watch both images closely, you’ll notice that the Cisco router is using a source MAC address of 00:00:5e:00:01:01. This is correct, because this is the MAC address that must be used according to the RFC. (The last ’01’ is the VRRP group 1. Had I configured it with VRRP group 5, it would be ’05’.)

The Vyatta router does not use this MAC address but instead uses his own (00:0c:29:fd:d5:23, VMWare virtual NIC). I’ve done some research around the web and could not find anything conclusive, but I’ve heard of Linux versions having trouble using multiple source MAC addresses, so this may be the cause. It does create a problem though, because if a router fails in this configuration, the end devices are left with the wrong ARP information, making the 192.168.0.5 address unreachable after all. It’s possible to solve this issue by sending a Gratuitous ARP packet in case of a failure, but I didn’t notice such a packet in my tests, and it would still make things more complex than they are supposed to be. At this moment I am uncertain if VRRP works well in Vyatta. But that aside, I did learn a lot today.

